My First Home Made Veggie Burgers

Imagehttp://kblog.lunchboxbunch.com/2012/02/easy-sweet-potato-veggie-burgers-with.html

Today, I slaved away in the kitchen for about 3 hours. Something I haven’t done in quite awhile, instead opting for simple, 20 minute meals when hunger struck. But not tonight! I, like half the human population, have a Pinterest PinBoard, bursting with amazing looking and inspiring recipes. One such recipe came from a fellow blogger and is entitled “Easy Sweet Potato Veggie Burgers.”

I have been a vegetarian from the time I was around 5 or 6 years old. Now, nearly 18 years later, I am finally mustering up the courage to make my very own veggie burgers! I’m not entirely sure why it took me this many years to do it, but I always thought that it would be so much more difficult than it is, and therefore opted for the simple frozen veggie burger.

THE LOW DOWN:
Well, I was first drawn to this recipe due to the fact that it wasn’t just plain ole beans. On top of that, mixed into the burger-batter, are Sweet Potatoes! A food that I would have to consider a superior potato. A great source of beta-carotene, Vitamin A, B6, & C, and fiber among many other important nutrients; Anthocyanin and other color-related pigments in sweet potato are great for anti-inflammatory purposes; unlike their starchy counter part-the Idaho potato-sweet potatoes are actually a blood sugar regulator. When mixed with a healthy fat/protein (such as Almond Butter, Olive Oil, or any number of other healthy food friends), this is the perfect little meal! Lets face it, I love me some sweet taters!

This recipe has changed my ways for certain. The ingredients…:

2 cans cannellini white beans, drained
1 large sweet potato, baked/peeled/mashed (about 2 cups)
2 Tbsp tahini
2 tsp maple syrup/agave/honey
1 tsp lemon pepper seasoning OR Cajun seasoning (or another fave spice!)
1/4 cup wheat flour (instead, I did 1/4 cup, half whole wheat flour and half Panko crumbs)
Plentiful Panko Crumbs

…are all incredibly healthy, tasty, and easy to find at your local grocer. I especially like toying with new ideas for the next time I make them. For instance, I think any type of bean will work here. I also think you could do three cans of bean and exclude the sweet potato, even mixing three different beans, etc. And, as said in the original post, you can get creative and add your own spices. On top of that, I think you could chop up veggies and throw them in as well as maybe add a touch of olive oil to moisten them overall. And adding a bit of cheese, avocado, tomato, etc., to a slice or two of your favorite whole grain bread, adds to the tingles of delight when you bite into this burger!

Next up on the Sweet Potato route? Sweet Potato & Chickpea Hash. I’ll keep you posted! And, no worries, I have quite a few more favorite foods to provide this blog with some awesome recipes, tips, and inspiration!

Leave a Reply

