Simple, Nutritious Whole Wheat & Spelt Bread

So, yesterday I broke out my bread making skills for the first time in quite a few years. I used to love making bread, pizza dough in particular. But, due simply to life in general, I haven’t had the time or energy to whip up any dough. Then, I started reading about the benefits of Spelt Flour. Spelt is an ancient grain, used well before the modern day, enriched flour that we see on grocery shelves. It offers a lot more nutrients and benefits too, and you can easily sub it into any recipe that calls for any type of flour. It’s high in fiber, antioxidants, and protein, and it normally won’t cause sensitivities in those with wheat intolerances! I thought that was an interesting fact… not to get off on a tangent here, but I have always wondered if the many “intolerances” that we Americans seem to have these days are actually caused by the sheer amount of “fake” food that we eat? Think about it, instead of eating perfectly delicious and healthy whole-grains, the average person will just reach for a whole-processed package of this or that, providing us with empty calories and leading to a number of ailments (i.e. intolerances, allergies, inflammation, digestive issues, etc. etc.). What do you think about the way our world has developed these unhealthy eating habits?

(If you want to read even more about Spelt, check this site out! http://bakingbites.com/2008/04/what-is-spelt-flour/)

This nutritious Spelt flour most certainly inspired me to check out just what Spelt tasted like (as opposed to whole wheat flour) and thus lead me to a quick Google search for simple Spelt Flour Bread. That’s how I came across this insanely simple recipe:

SPELT BREAD

  • 2 tablespoons yeast (Rapid Rise)
  • 3/4 cup warm water
  • 2 2/3 cups warm water
  • 1/4 cup honey (I bet that Agave or Maple Syrup could be subbed in)
  • 1 tablespoon salt (I always ere on the light side of salt, and put in a bit less than this)
  • 9 tablespoons oil (any oil will do- I normally choose Olive Oil, but went with Canola this time)
  • 9 cups spelt flour (I ran low on Spelt Flour and had to do 5 cups Spelt Flour, 4 cups Whole Wheat Flour-it still turned out great!)
  1. In a cup, combine 3/4 cup of warm water, 1/4 cup of honey and 2 tbsp of yeast. Set aside.
  2. In a large bowl, combine 2 2/3 cup of warm water, salt and oil.
  3. Add half flour and yeast mixture.
  4. Stir well.
  5. Add remaining flour and knead for about 8 to 10 minutes.
  6. Preheat oven to 200 degrees and then turn off.
  7. Grease an ovenproof bowl and place dough in it. Let rise in oven. Punch dough down.
  8. Divide into three, place into three greased loaf pans, poke holes in loaves and let rise again.
  9. Bake 425 degrees for 20-25 minutes. (My oven burns hot, so I tweaked it to 400 degrees for only 15-17 mins)
And the verdict? YUM. I think it’s best when I toast the slices after cutting them-otherwise it seems just a bit too dry. Maybe I’ll up the oil content next time? We shall see. Also, being the genius that I am, I neglected to read the last step of the recipe in which it says to “divide into THREE.” Meaning, you’ll be making THREE loaves of bread! HA! So I accidentally made a bit more bread than I had intended upon making, and therefore decided to play around with the 2nd and 3rd loaves. In the 2nd loaf, I added Cinnamon, Sugar, and Cranberries; and in the 3rd loaf I added Mediterranean Blend Herbs and Spices (purchased from a local Herb & Spice seller). I froze each of those loaves so we’ll see how they turned out in the next month to two months or so. I’m actually more excited to try them than this original recipe loaf!
Have you ever added your own personal tweaks or ingredients to bread? If so let me know your tasty tips!!
One thought on “Simple, Nutritious Whole Wheat & Spelt Bread

Leave a Reply

