Ice Cream Lovers Annonymous

Yep, if there was an ICLA group, I’d be a member. I like to say that I don’t have a sweet tooth, but I do have an Ice Cream tooth. There’s just something about the smooth, cool, refreshing spoonful of chocolatey/minty/strawberry-y/nutty/etc.etc./(insert favorite ice cream flavor here), that I simply cannot resist. And I grew up in a household where homemade desserts were always at arms reach. (My mom is an amazing baker AND cook, a double positive and something I’m very grateful to have grown up exposed to-even though I’m the only vegetarian in the family, her love of being in the kitchen made me into a brave, inventive, experimental cook!) So, when it’s the end of a long day and I just need a little dessert-like boost, ice cream will always be my go-to.

That being said, I must now deliver the painful truth to you…Ice Cream is not actually the healthiest thing for you to eat! I know! I was shocked too. BUT there are quite a few recipes out there that make it more “acceptable” and even-GASP!-a healthy dessert option!

Here are a few recipes I’ve found and personally approve of both in the taste-bud region, and in the health region:

Mixed Berry Frocho Pops

Ingredients: 

  • 1 C fresh or frozen mixed berries (instead of mixed berry, you could do chocolate, or any other fruits you so desire)
  • 1 C (8 oz) Plain 0% Chobani Greek Yogurt (or any brand will do, and you can get creative with flavored yogurts too)
  • 3 Tbsp honey
  • Freezer-Pop Molds (handy, but you could probably do it with a large ice cube tray)
 Prep:

Puree fruit, Chobani and honey in food processor until smooth.

Fill 6 freezer-pop molds or 3-oz paper cups 3/4 full. Insert sticks and freeze until completely firm, about 6 hours. Dip molds briefly in hot water before unmolding.
http://chobanikitchen.com/recipes/detail/mixed-b

Dairy-Free Chocolate Ice Cream

Ingredients:

  • Bananas! (Sliced into disks, THEN frozen overnight)
  • 2-3 heaping teaspoons Cocoa Powder
  • Swirl of Maple Syrup/Agave Nectar/Honey
  • You can get creative with toppings! Almond slivers, shredded dark chocolate, fresh fruit, etc.)

Prep:

All you need is a blender or food processor. Drop the frozen slices of banana in, and blend until nice and creamy smooth texture is reached. Scoop in the cocoa powder, blend again. Swirl in desired amount of Syrup/Nectar/Honey, blend until it’s all evenly blended. Serve and enjoy! Simple as that.

http://www.thelondoner.me/2011/09/dairy-free-chocolate-ice-cream.html

Yogurt, Honey & Cinnamon Ice Cream (Makes 4-6 Servings)
Ingredients: 

  • 16oz Greek Yogurt (I use Fage Total Whole Milk Greek Yogurt)
  • 1/4 Cup Honey
  • 1/2 Tsp Cinnamon

Prep:
1. Place all the ingredients in a bowl and whisk to combine.
2. Pour the yogurt mixture into an ice cream maker and chill according to manufacturers directions (The original poster has a Cuisinart ICE-50BC Supreme Ice Cream Maker and it took 30 minutes-see note!).
3. Place the mixture in the freezer to firm up, about 1-2 hours.
4. Serve.
*If you don’t own an ice cream maker, no worries, this mixture can be poured into popsicle molds and frozen for 6 hours or longer.

http://weelicious.com/tag/pazzo-gelato/

Also! Something I didn’t know about until recently, the Greek Yogurt brands Chobani (http://chobanikitchen.com/recipes) and Voskos (http://www.voskos.com/recipes/) both have recipe sections on their sites. Check them out! It’s interesting and something I definitely want to test out in place of traditional recipe ingredients.

Leave a Reply

