Super Eating.

I think that the term “Superfood” is entirely overused. Maybe it’s just me, but every time I see an article in a magazine that’s focused on “Superfoods” I role my eyes a little bit.

50-clean-eating-superfoods-

Don’t get me wrong, I still read the articles and see what “Superfoods” are being touted this month. It’s interesting to me that so many of these foods get so much press and fly around health magazines and recipe magazines like wildfire, and yet they are still very misunderstood and under-consumed by, well, the consumer.

nugget-inside-400

One of my favorite things to do is go grocery shopping! I love the fresh produce section; discovery new delicious and intriguing veggies to add to my cart.

All Lost In the Supermarket.

Kale was, I believe, my first “different” veggie to fall in love with. I eat it regularly and make different salads with it raw, steamed, sauteed….I’ve even tried a fresh, homemade juice with it before! (Yes it turned the drink green, but it was SO good! I honestly would drink it daily if I had a juicer of my very own!)

green-kale

Beets were next-introduced to me by my awesome, innovative dad. I no longer live with my parents, but we talk regularly and one evening I got a call from my mom insisting that my dad had lost his mind and gone Beet-Crazy! (Word to the wise, chopping beets can create quite a mess in the kitchen—it will look like a blood bath, so don’t have a crazed look in your eyes wilst chopping or you’ll garner some odd looks) Anyways, he was going “Beet-Crazy” because he had discovered the amazing properties that beets possess!
Here are a few:
-They provide 18 vitamins and minerals including: Potassium, magnesium, fiber, phosphorus, iron; vitamins A, B & C; beta-carotene, beta-cyanine; folic acid. WOWsers.
-They act as a natural, no starvation required cleanse for the toxins in your body. They clear out the liver and purify the blood, and act as a natural means of lower stomach acidity. Some even hold them up as cancer-preventative agents. (Much like Kale!)
-They are low in calories but provide energy from the “healthy” sugars they contain (stop being afraid of sugars people! Everything in moderation.) so they are the perfect thing for someone with one of those stellar new years resolutions. 😉
**BONUS** they are the perfect topping for a Kale and Spinach Salad; their juices act like a light vinaigrette even. I highly recommend it.

IMG_5452 beets

Quinoa is by far my favorite discovery of all! For a vegetarian, I feel it is an essential grain. Learning how to perfect the cooking method with my limited types of pots (which is one pot…that’s not ideal for quinoa cooking) but I experimented and perfected it! Now, I just need to graduate from college, get a big-girl job, and earn an amazing Le Creuset Pot!! Yes, please.

And as far as Quinoa goes, well that’s just the thing! It can go as far as you want to take it! I mean it, you can try virtually anything with it because it’s the perfect base for all sorts of sauces, any and all veggies, and you can even treat it as a new, higher protein version of traditional oatmeal! Yep, just toss in some berries, cinnamon, and a dash of ginger, top it with some slivered almonds or walnuts and you’ve got a SuperBreakfast!

As for it’s benefits?
-HIGH protein
-9 Essential Amino Acids
-High in Fiber and Magnesium
-Quinoa is close to one of the most complete foods in nature because it contains amino acids, enzymes, vitamins and minerals, fiber, antioxidants, and phytonutrients. –BodyEcology.com.

quinoa-22

There you have it! These are only a few of my personal favorites, but I also believe that these three are probably the easiest to incorporate into your pre-existing diet. They are all simple, and yet so powerful! Easy to purchase, cook, and there are so many ways to enjoy them and experiment with cooking (mayhaps even baking?!) them that there’s just no excuse to not try! So ENJOY! Be adventurous at the supermarket. Take a walk on the granola-eating, veggie lovin’, hippie side. You’re body will appreciate it.

The+Beets+Doug+Funie+TheBeets714184

4 thoughts on “Super Eating.

    • Oh awesome! I’m so excited for you! The kale juice I made was more improvisational than recipe (If I had a juicer I’d be all about recipes and developing recipes!), but if I remember correctly it was kale, apples, a bit of lemon and that’s all!! (I was told adding watermelon to that mix could be good as well.)
      My dad has a juicer and has a great apple, beet, carrot, kale, and ginger recipe I’ll find and send your way too!
      Let me know what other juice recipes you come across!

Leave a Reply

