Veggie Burgers!

Back from my weekend hiatus with a new recipe for you all!

veggie finished

 

Veggie Burgers, as you might have guessed by the post title, are my meal of the day. And I am pretty proud of these guys. I scoured the internet to discover all of the recipes that were a) hassle free, b) incorporated ingredients I already had in my kitchen versus ones that I would buy once and never use again (eh hem… Tahini Sauce for $8-$18! No thank you…) and c) sounded pretty darn tasty to my Veggie Ears.

veggie burgers the mix

After looking through numerous recipes, I discovered about three that incorporated the use of Sweet Potatoes, Quinoa, and Beans! Three of my all time favorites in one stellar burger? Sure! So I decided to take bits and pieces from these recipes and create my own with these three superb ingredients as the base.

veggie finished 2 veggie untopped

Here’s what I came up with:

Simple Veggie Burgers

Ingredients *indicates a note for alternate variations of the recipe.

2 Small Sweet Potatoes (by small I mean the size of my palm, 1 Large sweet potato would work swimmingly)

1/2 C of Quinoa

1/2 C Lentils*

3 T. Finely Chopped Onion (Red or Yellow, whichever you prefer)

1/2 T. Coriander**

1/2 T. Cumin**

1 t. Turmeric**

1 C Add-Ins (Optional)***

*Lentils were my choice, however, there is no reason you couldn’t make these guys work using mashed Chick Peas(Garbonzo Beans) or mashed Pinto Beans, mashed Great Northern, etc. etc. Just make sure you mash them then measure out 1/2 cup.

**These spices, Coriander, Cumin, and Turmeric, were my own choices, however, you could literally use any spices you have available in your pantry. Want a more Italian twist? Try Oregano, Garlic and Basil. Opting for Mediterranean? Have at it with Rosemary, Sage, Thyme, and Garlic. Options=endless.

***Add Ins: Okay, here’s some more recipe freedom for you! I chose to got bare bones on this first go around. That way I could get an idea of what they taste like and what textures would be a good combo. I decided that chopped fresh Kale would be great! Also, chopped fresh red/green/yellow/orange peppers, chopped, mildly steamed carrots, broccoli, celery-anything with a mild crunch, would probably be great. This is what makes this such a fun and easy recipe, you can go with the flow of your fridge! AKA What you already have!

Directions

1. Cook the Quinoa and Lentils (or beans of choice) according to package instructions.

2. Preheat the oven to 350 Degrees. While it’s preheating, pop the Sweet Potatoes in the microwave for about 2.5 mins on each side, per potato. (You can bake them any way you like really, I just prefer this quick method). When they are done, remove the skins and scrape the potato into a medium sized mixing bowl, lightly mash them.

3. Chop up any add-ins you would like to use. If you’re going with cruciferous veggies, I would recommend steaming them lightly first, only to the point that they are still mildly crunchy, then chopping them up. If you go Kale or Peppers, I don’t think it so necessary to steam them.

4. Add the Quinoa and the Beans to the Sweat Potato(es) followed by the Add-Ins and finally by any Seasonings you like.

5. Mash all of the ingredients together. You can get down and dirty and use your hands, or you can opt for a fork or spoon method to obtain the desired outcome.

6. Roll the mixture into a fist-sized ball and flatten onto a cookie sheet (I like to line mine with Parchment Paper). The recipe should yield 4 large or 5/6 medium patties. Pop the tray into the oven and set a timer for ten minutes. When the timer buzzes, flip the patties over (caution: this can be tricky as the mixture is a bit crumbly-it’s worth it though!). Close the oven back up and set the timer for 10-12 more minutes, or until the patties reach the desired golden crispiness you prefer.

7. Cool and enjoy! If you are dairy-friendly, use a mild cheese like a provolone or mild white cheddar. Nothing Sharp. If you didn’t add Kale to the mix (or even if you did!) top them with Kale (steamed or fresh) or any other kind of leafy green. I prefer to eat awesome bread like Whole Foods Seeduction bread. Oh man, so tasty! I highly recommend it if you live by a Whole Foods!

Yields 4 Large or 5/6 Medium sized patties.

What would you add or subtract from the recipe? Any Ideas for a growing Homemade Veggie Burger connoisseur such as myself??

 

One thought on “Veggie Burgers!

  1. Pingback: Kim's Kitchen Blog

Leave a Reply

